Sunday, June 3, 2012

Lori Pyper Interview

Lori Pyper Interview By Female Muscle Guide

Where were you born?

I was born in Grand Rapids MI.

What is your profession?

I am a hairstylist and a nutritionist.

What do you do for fun that does not relate to the sport, do you have any hobbies?

I Love sand drag racing! I am on a pit crew! The louder and the faster the cars the more excited I am.

How and when did you get involved in weight training?

Oct 2008 I was using a gym to run on the treadmill to train for races. I hired a trainer because I wanted to get six pack of abs I was 34 at the time.

How often do you train and could you give a brief overview of your weekly workout?

I train with weights 5 days a week, with 20-45 min of cardio along with it. Mon chest & tries, Tus legs, Wed back & bies, Thurs shoulders, Fri legs, Sat & Sun 1 hr. cardo.

How critical is a good diet in this sport and why?

The diet is extremely critical. Eating clean is what will help lean you out. Finding out how sensitive you are to carbohydrates is going to be very beneficial to you!

What is your favorite workout and why?

It has to be shoulders! It is an amazing feeling to get a great pump on your shoulders and lift heavy weight above your head! After that great pump getting a few poses in for practice also make you feel like you are making progress!

Do you train harder for competition preparation versus training in the offseason?

No my entire last 2 years have been a pretty steady state of training. The only thing for me that has changed is more calories in the off season, still eating clean but adjusting them as we get closer to competing along with more cardio!

Did you want to compete from the day you started or did you gradually come in to it?

The first competition I went to was in Oct. of 2008, that very weekend I went to my trainer Omar and said you lead the way, I am in this full force.

When and what was your first competition and how did you do?

I did a local non sanctioned show in April of 2009 I won the masters division, 2 weeks later I became nationally qualified at a NPC show by taking 3rd.

How often do you compete now?

Over the last 2 years I have competed in the spring as well as the fall doing 1 or 2 shows each season.

Could you list the competitions you have competed in and your placement?

NPC Western MI 3rd
NPC Grand Rapids 4th.
OCB De Kalb Ill pro qualifier 2nd.
OCB Circle city Indianapolis 1st. overall.

In your opinion what is your best body part?

My back is powerful I love to turn towards the Curtain in the quarter turns and show the judges my spread!

Is women’s bodybuilding as respected as men’s bodybuilding or is it criticized more?

I don’t know if it is criticized more, but I do think it is misunderstood! Many people think that you are going to get big, bulky & manly! Which is so untrue. This sport is healthier than most any other sport based on the amount of working out it involves along with the clean eating. Not many sports do you have to be this disciplined along with being able to control your mind, and block out everybody else's negativity around you.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

In ten years I want to have obtained pro cards in more than 1 natural sanction. Along with being a spokes person for a supplement company and inspire other athletes who have as big of dreams as I do. Having my nutrition certificate and helping people eat healthier has inspired me to keep going with my own dreams! Think BIG!

Female Bodybuilding >>>

Supporter of female athletes getting fit, staying healthy and building muscle.

0 comments: